General Info

The I-HOW Radio Astronomy Capacity Building Workshop aims to provide a unique platform for students and young researchers from developing nations to learn how to analyze radio data from arrays such as VLA, ALMA, MeerKAT, and LOFAR. It will ideally open a unique opportunity to both increase the science return of the available data archives and encourage the junior to mid-career scientists in the region to learn about Radio Astronomy. A wide range of topics such as star and planet formation, galaxy formation and evolution, the interstellar and intergalactic medium, AGNs, dark matter, dark energy, cosmic magnetism, and transients will be ideally studied through the radio window.

The teams of experts include a number of renowned senior lecturers from various fields. One of the objectives of this workshop is to inspire and prepare young researchers to use future radio observatories like SKA, ngVLA, etc which will revolutionize our understanding about the Cosmos and Universe. These short training and teaching programs are very effective and provide ample opportunities for collaborative research with experts. This particular workshop also aims to highlight a number of research programs, in line with main research themes, in Iran and Türkıye and to explore new possibilities of Central/West Asia collaborations.

The I-HOW Capacity Building Workshops also promote cultural exchange between participants through various activities outside normal workshop hours. This is the first time the International Astronomical Union (IAU) organizes such a Capacity Building Workshop in Radio Astronomy thanks to the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. This workshop is initiated by Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences- IPM in Iran and will be held in collaboration with Ercıyes University and TAD in Türkıye.

Important dates

  • First announcement: 12 April
  • Registeration opens: 12 April
  • Registration closes: 1 July
  • Approved participants notification: 10 July
  • Start of the workshop: 4 September

Scientific Organizing Committee

  • Fatemeh Tabatabaei (SOC chair)
    Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, Iran
  • Ibrahim Küçük (SOC co-chair)
    Ercıyes University, Türkıye
  • Bradley Frank (I-HOW)
    South African Radio Astronomy Observatory, SA
  • Violette Imprellizzeri (I-HOW)
    Leiden University, The Netherlands
  • Shant Baghram
    Sharif University of Technology, Iran
  • Masoumeh Ghasemi-Nodehi
    Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, Iran
  • Habib Khosroshahi
    Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, Iran
  • Baerbel Koribalski
    CSIRO's Australia Telescope National Facility, Australia
  • Areg Mickaelian
    Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory, Armenia
  • Emmanuel Momjian
    National Radio Astronomy Observatory, USA

Local Organizing Committee

  • Inci Akkaya Oralhan (LOC chair)
    Ercıyes University, Türkıye
  • Sinan Aliş (LOC co-chair)
    Istanbul University, Türkıye
  • Mustafa Kürşad Yıldız (LOC co-chair)
    Ercıyes University, Türkıye
  • Arash Danesh
    Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, Iran
  • Mohammad Hosseinirad
    Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, Iran
  • Sinan Kaan Yerli
    Middle East Technical University, Türkıye
  • Cenk Kayhan
    Ercıyes University, Türkıye
  • Hanieh Kiaee
    Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, Iran
  • Korhan Yelkencı
    Istanbul University, Türkıye

Lecturers (confirmed)

  • Betsey Adams
    Astron - Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy
  • Aida Ahmadi
    Leiden Observatory
  • George Bendo
    The University of Manchester
  • Jack Gallimore
    Bucknell University
  • Roger Ianjamasimanana
    Instituto Astrofísica Andalucía
  • Michael Janßen
    Max-Planck-Institute for Radio Astronomy

  • Mustafa Kürşad Yıldız
    Ercıyes University
  • Giulia Macario
    INAF - Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory
  • Nadeem Oozeer
    South African Radio Astronomy Observatory
  • Rosita Paladino
    University of Bologna
  • Cristiana Spingola
    INAF - Institute for Radioastronomy in Bologna

Registration (closed)

There is no registration fee for this workshop. Accommodation of all the selected participants will be provided and booked by organizers (see ACCOMMODATION). Please note that approved students are expected to be present on the dates of the workshop. Limited financial support for travel may also be available. The participants with accompanying person(s) should send us an email to to get accommodation arranged by the organizers. Unfortunately, the expenses for any accompanying person will not be covered by the workshop.

List of accepted participants

Visa and travel

Visa requirements of Türkıye for foreigners can be found at However, most of the neighboring countries as well as several European countries do not need a visa to enter Türkıye. For a few exceptional cases, one can easily obtain an e-visa beforehand or at the gate of arrival (


The workshop will be held in the Department of Astronomy and Space Sciences of the Ercıyes University located in Kayserı. The workshop will take place in the Faculty of Science Computer Labs. which will provide computational facilities required by the class.

Kayserı, Turkey
Hunat Hatun Complex
Hunat Hatun Complex, Kayserı
Faculty of Science
Department of Astronomy and Space Sciences, Ercıyes University


Department of Astronomy and Space Sciences, Ercıyes University, Kayserı, Türkıye (google map)


A number of rooms have been blocked at Ercıyes University Faculty of Tourism Hızıroğlu Practice Hotel. The hotel is located within the campus area of Ercıyes University which provides a secure, comfortable and quiet environment (to view the location of the hotel on map). The hotel provides bed and breakfast services. The rooms of the hotel are equipped with twin beds, desk, chair and wifi internet. The workshop venue is conveniently situated within walking distance of the Ercıyes University Faculty of Tourism Hızıroğlu Practice Hotel. You can check the map for directions (more information).

Hiziroglu hotel

Workshop Sponsors

Contact us

You can contact us using the following e-mail addresses: